Student Science

Intel ISEF 2014 Special Awards Organization Profile


<back to listing of all 2014 Sponsors>



National Aeronautics and Space Administration



The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) is the United States government agency responsible for the nation's civilian space program and for aeronautics and aerospace research. Founded in 1958 by President Dwight D. Eisenhower, NASA's mission is to pioneer the future in space exploration, scientific discovery and aeronautics research, answering basic questions like: What's out there in space? How do we get there? What will we find?


Why We Participate

NASA's vision is to continue to reach for new heights and reveal the unknown so that what we do and learn will benefit all humankind, and we are excited to honor projects that have those same goals.



2014 Awards Offered

Top Award of $5,000

Second Award of $2,000

Third Award of $1,000


Intel ISEF 2014 Awards

Top Award of $5,000

Harsha Uppili

The Fabrication and Characterization of Short and Long Term Memory Proton Induced Thin Film Synaptic Transistors


Second Award of $2,000

Seung Hye (Beatrice) Choi

Electronic Tongue: Tastes of Toxic Metal Ions in Water


Second Award of $2,000

Swetha Shutthanandan

Next Generation Supercapacitor for Ultra-Fast Energy Harvesting


Second Award of $2,000

Stephanie Spear

Rocks of the Rainbow: Asteroid Classification Using SDSS Filters


Third Award of $1,000

Divya Koyyalagunta

Role of Somatostatin Interneurons in Alzheimer's Disease


Third Award of $1,000

Cassidy Laidlaw

What's Your Problem? Automatically Summarizing Scientific Research with Open Problems


Third Award of $1,000

Jesse Zhang

Lunar Tide Contribution to Thermosphere Weather


Third Award of $1,000

Marek Novak

Personal Physiological Sensor Network Device


Third Award of $1,000

Ann Makosinski

The Hollow Flashlights: Head and Hand


Third Award of $1,000

Farah Almulla

Improving Seawater Membrane Distillation: The Development of Carbon Nanotube-coated Nickel Hollow Fiber Membranes


Third Award of $1,000

Alanna Bram

Determination of Factors that Impact Clearance of Suspended Particulate Matter (Dust) in Air


Third Award of $1,000

Jason Cui

Novel Single-Cell Screening: Optimized Droplet-Based Microfluidics for High-Throughput Screening of Adherent Cells


Third Award of $1,000

Achal Fernando-Peiris

Fabricating an Artificial Nose using Mesoporous Photonic Crystals


Third Award of $1,000

Raghu Dhara

Achieving Net Gain Nuclear Fusion in Microcapsules by Coupling Sonoluminescence and Magnetic Compression



Picture of 2014 Award Winners


SAO Updates

NASA Astronaut Judging at Intel ISEF Finds Inspiration in Student Projects


1719 N Street, N.W. , Washington, D.C. 20036|202.785.2255|© Society for Science & the Public 2000 - 2013. All rights reserved.