Student Science

Intel ISEF 2014 Special Awards Organization Profile


<back to listing of all 2014 Sponsors>



Mu Alpha Theta, National High School and Two-Year College Mathematics Honor Society



Mu Alpha Theta was formed over 50 years ago to develop strong scholarship in Mathematics and to promote the understanding and enjoyment of the subject. The Mu Alpha Theta Award is given to the most challenging, thorough, and creative investigation of a problem involving mathematics accessible to high school students. Components of the investigation may include, but are not limited to, mathematical proof, mathematical modeling, statistical analysis, visualization, simulation, and approximation.


Why We Participate

Mu Alpha Theta's mission includes encouraging student interest in applied mathematics. Providing awards for outstanding work by high school students helps us to better fulfill this mission.



2014 Awards Offered

First Award of $1,500

First Award of $1,500

Second Award of $1,000

Second Award of $1,000


Intel ISEF 2014 Awards

First Award of $1,500

Nirali Thakor

A Novel Mathematical Simulation to Study the Dynamics of CD4 Cells, CD8 Cells, and HIV Viral Load


First Award of $1,500

Vinay Iyengar

Hybridized Characteristic 3 Galois Field Arithmetic for Elliptic Curve Cryptography, Phase III


Second Award of $1,000

Noah Pritt

Indoor Navigation with Maximum Likelihood Classification of Wi-Fi Fingerprints


Second Award of $1,000

Sarah Shader

Weighted Catalan Numbers and Their Divisibility Properties


Second Award of $1,000

Sasank Vishnubhatla

Winning the War against Hackers: A Hybrid Asymmetric Cryptographic Algorithm for Safe and Secure Data



Picture of 2014 Award Winners



1719 N Street, N.W. , Washington, D.C. 20036|202.785.2255|© Society for Science & the Public 2000 - 2013. All rights reserved.