Student Science

Intel ISEF 2013 Special Awards Organization Profile


<back to listing of all 2013 Sponsors>



National Aeronautics and Space Administration



The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) is the United States government agency responsible for the nation's civilian space program and for aeronautics and aerospace research. Founded in 1958 by President Dwight D. Eisenhower, NASA's mission is to pioneer the future in space exploration, scientific discovery and aeronautics research, answering basic questions like: What's out there in space? How do we get there? What will we find?


Why We Participate

NASA's vision is to continue to reach for new heights and reveal the unknown so that what we do and learn will benefit all humankind, and we are excited to honor projects that have those same goals.



2013 Awards Offered

Grand award of $5,000

Second Award of $2,000

Third Award of $1000


Picture of 2013 Award Winners



Intel ISEF 2013 Awards

Grand award of $5,000

Jinhie Skarda

Analysis of Jovian Decametric Emission using the Long Wavelength Array Station 1


Second Award of $2,000

Jack Andraka

An Inexpensive and Ultra-Compact Raman Spectrometer for Real World Applications


Second Award of $2,000

Alexander Crisara

Alexander Rabii

Efficient Algae-Based Life Support for Long Duration Spaceflight


Second Award of $2,000

Andy Tran

Programmable Multiplexed Immunosensor for Rapid Cardiac Diagnostics


Third Award of $1000

Karan Naik

In vitro Macromolecular Crowding Affects Cellular Behavior


Third Award of $1000

Shyamal Buch

Towards Next-Generation Nanomaterials: Atomistic, First-Principles Analysis of N-Doped Reduced Graphene Oxide


Third Award of $1000

Michael Chen

The Effects of Operating Conditions on Gas Transport Mechanisms through SAPO-34 Zeolite Membranes


Third Award of $1000

Gagan Gupta

Folding and Unfolding of Serum Albumin Proteins with Two-Photon Fluorescence Spectroscopy


Third Award of $1000

Mustafa Ansari

Kevin Huang

A Heuristic Method for Determining Distance-Optimal Supercomputer Interconnection Networks


Third Award of $1000

Adam Bowman

Apparatus and Analysis Techniques for Miniature Pulsed Plasma Sources


Third Award of $1000

Emily Baczyk

A Model-Based Approach to Predicting Species' Responses to Climate Change by Characterizing Community Dynamics


Third Award of $1000

Niranjan Balachandar

Nirali Thakor

Simulation of Protein Folding using Monte Carlo Methods in a Triangular Lattice


Third Award of $1000

Coleman Kendrick

N-Body Simulation of Saturn's Ring Structure


Third Award of $1000

Savannah Est

Circadian and Photomorphogenic Response in Arabidopsis thaliana


SAO Updates

NASA Astronaut Judging at Intel ISEF Finds Inspiration in Student Projects


1719 N Street, N.W. , Washington, D.C. 20036|202.785.2255|© Society for Science & the Public 2000 - 2013. All rights reserved.