Student Science

Intel ISEF 2013 Special Awards Organization Profile


<back to listing of all 2013 Sponsors>



Mu Alpha Theta, National High School and Two-Year College Mathematics Honor Society



Formed over 50 years ago to develop strong scholarship in Mathematics and promote the understanding and enjoyment of the subject. The Mu Alpha Theta Award is given to the most challenging, thorough, and creative investigation of a problem involving mathematics accessible to high school students. Components of the investigation may include, but are not limited to, mathematical proof, mathematical modeling, statistical analysis, visualization, simulation, and approximation.


Why We Participate

Mu Alpha Theta's mission includes encouraging student interest in applied mathematics. Providing awards for outstanding work by high school students helps us to better fulfill this mission.



2013 Awards Offered

Mu Alpha Theta will award up to three awards for a total of up to $6000. First award minimum of $1500

First Award of $3,000

Second Award of $2,000

Third Award of $1,000


Picture of 2013 Award Winners



Intel ISEF 2013 Awards

First Award of $3,000

Vinay Iyengar

Efficient Characteristic 3 Galois Field Operations for Elliptic Curve Cryptographic Applications


Second Award of $2,000

Hannah Larson

Classification of Some Fusion Categories of Rank 4


Third Award of $1,000

Rishi Mirchandani

Superadditivity and Subadditivity in Fair Division


1719 N Street, N.W. , Washington, D.C. 20036|202.785.2255|© Society for Science & the Public 2000 - 2013. All rights reserved.