Student Science

Intel ISEF 2013 Special Awards Organization Profile


<back to listing of all 2013 Sponsors>



American Mathematical Society



The American Mathematical Society was founded in 1888, to further the interests of mathematical research & scholarship, as well as to serve the national/international community through its publications, meetings, advocacy & other programs.Friends and family of the late mathematician, Karl Menger, contribute to a fund in his memory, to be distributed by the AMS for annual awards at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair.


Why We Participate

For the AMS, this is the twenty-fifth year of participation and is the twenty-third year of the presentation of the Karl Menger Awards. Participation at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair allows us to recognize outstanding high school students in the mathematical areas of science and engineering, based on projects submitted at the Intel ISEF.



2013 Awards Offered

First Award of $1,000

Second Award of $500

Third Award of $250


Picture of 2013 Award Winners



Intel ISEF 2013 Awards

First Award of $1,000

Colin Aitken

Dots and Lines: A Combinatorial Interpretation of the Homotopy Groups of Finite Topologies


Second Award of $500

Stanislav Atanasov

Rational Fixed Points of Polynomial Involutions


Second Award of $500

Hannah Larson

Classification of Some Fusion Categories of Rank 4


Third Award of $250

Asbjorn Nordentoft

Applications of Dirichlet Series


Third Award of $250

Simanta Gautam

A Novel Approach to the Spherical Codes Problem


Third Award of $250

Ilya Kirillov

Configuration Spaces of 4-bar Linkages


Third Award of $250

Maksim Bezrukov

Aliaksandr Stadolnik

Percolation Games on Cayley Graphs of Groups


1719 N Street, N.W. , Washington, D.C. 20036|202.785.2255|© Society for Science & the Public 2000 - 2013. All rights reserved.